Doctorate Programs

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) program Structure

The degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is awarded for a thesis, which is an integrated and coherent report that demonstrates a candidate's ability to carry out independent research; analysis and presentation of this research at the most advanced level in a particular field of study. The thesis may consist of a candidate’s published or unpublished work or a combination of both, provided this has not been used for the award of any other academic qualification.

The Doctoral PhD degree can be undertaken in the disciplines taught in the university. While the style and format of theses differ according to the conventions of their disciplines, there are some general criteria against which a thesis is assessed at its completion, namely, that the thesis as a whole should make an original contribution to the knowledge of the subject with which it deals, and the candidate should understand the relationship of the thesis to the wider context of knowledge in which it belongs.

The thesis is to be defended before a scientific committee comprised of two international examiners and two national examiners.

PhD program Duration:

The PhD degree normally involves a period of two to four years for full-time admission students. It is allowed to extend that period once for a maximum of one year based on a written request by the supervisor.

Doctorate Degrees awarded by the Faculty of Postgraduate Studies and Scientific Research

Faculty of Pharmacy & Biotechnology

  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Pharmaceutical Chemistry)
  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Biochemistry)
  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Microbiology& Immunology)
  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Pharmacology & Toxicology)
  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Pharmaceutical Technology)
  • Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Pharmaceutical Biology)
  • Ph.D. in Biotechnology

Information Engineering and Technology

  • Ph.D. in Communications Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Electronics Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Networking Engineering

Media Engineering and Technology

  • Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Digital Media Engineering & Technology

Engineering and Material Science

  • Ph.D. in Materials Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Mechatronics Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Design and Production Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Civil Engineering
  • Ph.D. in Engineering (Structural Engineering)
  • Ph.D. in Civil Engineering (Transportation Engineering)
  • Ph.D. in Civil Engineering (Water Resources and Treatment Engineering)
  • Ph.D. in Architecture Engineering (Architecture and Urban Design)
  • Ph.D. in Architecture Engineering (Building Technology and Integrated Design)

Faculty of Management Technology

  • Ph.D. in Management (Marketing)
  • Ph.D. in Management (finance)
  • Ph.D. in Management (International Business)
  • Ph.D. in Management (Human Resources & Organizational Behavior)
  • Ph.D. in Management (Operations)
  • Ph.D. in Management (Innovation & Technology)
  • Ph.D. in Management (Strategic Management)
  • Ph.D. in Management (Information Systems)
  • Ph.D. in Accounting
  • Ph.D. in Economics
  • Ph.D. in Business Informatics

Faculty of Applied Sciences and Art

  • Ph.D. in Graphic Design
  • Ph.D. in Media Design
  • Ph.D. in Product Design

General Bylaws

For more details regarding the MSc and PhD study and exam regulations please check the General Study and Examination Regulations for Postgraduate Studies.pdf


GUC Chat Bot